When you want to give up

Think about why you started in the first place. I’m pretty sure I’ve said this before as one of my Facebook one-liners and you know what it’s true. I will be the first to say there are many times I want to give up, sometimes it’s like a cycle. Monday I’m like oh yes I am ready to do this, then by Friday I am like oh why this why that? It’s a vicious cycle but the thing is that I don’t give up why? Because I know why I am doing what I am doing. Giving up is usually an emotional decision, based on feelings because of what you see and hear. I say usually because sometimes, only a few times is the decision to give up on something a rational decision. For example; a person in a loveless marriage where their spouse constantly abuses them physically, verbally and emotionally, cheats on them from morning to noon, in this situation the decision to give up is a rational because that kind of ‘relationship’ will only end up destroying both people. However this situation and only a few are the times when giving up is the right thing to do, but most of the time we give up when it’s not the right thing to do. We give up when we should persevere. We retreat when we should keep going, we turn back when we should stop to think on how to overcome the obstacles. Why? Because we don’t know why we started in the first place or we never realised on the way why we were doing what we were doing.

images (1)

That’s the reason when you don’t know why you started you give up easily on the way. I know because this has happened to me even now when I know why I am doing certain things I still feel to give up sometimes actually many times because what I want isn’t something easy and usually when you set out to do something it’s not going to be easy, many times things will come against you, plans will go awry but if you know why you started then you won’t give up.

Every time you go to give up you will think Oh I can’t give up look at what I want to achieve if I give up all the things I did to this point will be for nothing and then you keep going until you succeed. But if you don’t know why you started the journey halfway through you’ll be like Wait what am I doing this for again? Forget this!, then you give up and the things is when you give up once it opens the door to give up again and again and again. No-one wants to be known as a quitter so next time that annoying nagging voice comes into your heard urging you to give up think to yourself: Why did I start in the first place?

Leave a Reply

