I’m not really sure if I’m a feminist

im-a-feministI just found this tumbler account even if you don’t read this post click on this link. It may open your eyes to the so-called equal society we live in.

Feminism, the word of words. It’s a word that holds a lot of meaning for both women and men. It’s a word that divides people some people hate it whereas some like it, kinda of like Marmite. Feminism by Wikipedia’s (I know) definition is a collection of movements and ideologies aimed at defining, establishing, and defending equal political, economic, and social rights for women. Wikipedia goes on to say that a feminist advocates or supports the rights and equality of women. Now if that’s all a feminist then surely mostly everyone in the world is or should be one. Why wouldn’t you want to support the rights of more than half of the people in the world? Why wouldn’t any man be a feminist as in doing so he could help pave the way for his daughter, sister or mother? Why wouldn’t any woman fight to define her rights as an equal to men? And more to the point, why wouldn’t I a woman myself totally assume and embrace the role of a feminist?

Well, because like anything feminism has many faces and I am not sure I agree with them all, some feminists believe in total equality which I most certainly agree with. I don’t believe that women were created to be treated inferior from men I totally believe that whilst we’re different we are to be treated with the same respect that men are, given the same pay for the same work, same benefits and all.

So sad this even had to be said
So sad this even had to be said

There are many other views that feminism holds that I agree with etc; its stance on sexual assault on women but I don’t want to turn this into a long post.
But on the other hand some feminists believe that women do not need men and that we are superior. I don’t agree with this I don’t necessarily believe that women don’t need men I actually believe that no-one needs anyone, but that’s a whole other post in itself. So that’s a part of feminism I don’t really agree with, so I don’t know if I can say I’m a feminist if I don’t agree with all of its beliefs. Then again feminism is a shared worldwide belief and it’s very unlikely that all women and men who support feminism believe the same thing, but then I guess that’s the point although there maybe different variations and degrees of feminism the main belief we share is that women should be treated as equals with men. Now that I totally agree with.

Also please leave a comment on which one of these pictures stuck out to you for me number 2 and 6 were quite shocking.

Leave a Reply

